Do For You: Pure Barre 

After working for (almost) two years post-graduating college, I have come to realize that maintaining a healthy work/life balance is vital to a happy life and success in and outside the office.

Find your zen. Go somewhere new. Do for you.  

For my first Do For You I would like to highlight my love for Pure Barre.

A Bit About Pure Barre 

As stated on their website, Pure Barre is all about small movements that result in a big change. There are six parts to the 55 minute class:

  1. Warm-Up
  2. Sculpt Arms
  3. Tone Thighs
  4. Lift Seat
  5. Flatten Abs
  6. Cool down

There are a few red tools used during the workout, including weights, used to sculpt arms, a red ball, used during warm-up, thighs and/or seat work and sometimes abs, a red rubber tube or a red double tube, used during arm stretches, thighs and/or seat and cool down, and a red mat which is used during ab work and cool down.

Lots of red to stay on brand. I like it!

Also – you must wear sticky socks!

My New Favorite Barre 

I heard about Pure Barre from a few friends but didn’t start taking classes until August of 2016. I got a gift card for my birthday and figured what the h.e. double hockey stick?

I liked the classes, both Pure Barre and Platform, and was satisfied but not hooked. My gift card ran out and I was working in the city at the time and didn’t think I’d have time to go to classes besides the weekends, so a membership did not seem worth it to me.

I was going maybe twice a month in the fall when I started following my studios (Pure Barre Woodbury & Pure Barre Huntington Village) on Instagram. Wow – this barre thing sure knows how to brand themselves. While I wasn’t going to classes often, I was hooked with the idea of the Pure Barre lifestyle through their Instagram.

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 2.34.38 PM.png

Like, they literally have the cutest on-brand motivational posts to get you in the mood for a Pure Barre class. I’m a sucker for sassy workout puns (Namastay in bed, anyone?). Soon, other studios around the country began to follow me and I followed back almost immediately. It felt like such an Instagram honor!

#FitnessGoals #Fitspiration #Fitgram

As 2017 began I made a realistic fitness resolution to eat better, take care of my body and grow stronger. I was in a car accident early 2016 and my lower back suffered. I spent 2016 recovering and spending a lot of time at Physical Therapy. By the time 2017 rolled around, I felt confident and able to get back to my regular workout routine and more.

On Valentine’s Day, my love for the barre grew when I saw my studio was offering a special of 14 classes for $14 each. Sign me up! With that purchase, and then a $99 for your first month purchase, I spent most of February, March and April tucking and pulsing myself sore to strong. I upped my attendance from two classes a month to seven classes in both March and April!

Pure Results

Results don’t show up overnight. However, since taking Pure Barre classes consistently I have reached new heights in my fitness goals. I am more toned, stronger and I can kind of sort of do a little baby push up which for me is HUGE. Combined with Physical Therapy and other workout routines at the gym and even some hot yoga here and there, I feel my lower back healing, though I know I still have a long way to go.

I am still open to trying new workout classes, but I am 100% happy with my Pure Results! Adding Pure Barre classes to my fit-life was one of the best decisions I made in 2017 yet (even when the instructor says to pulse down an inch lower but my thighs are literally on fire. Like, literally.) Bikini body ready? I think so!

 Tank: Emi Jay Leggings: Ivy Park 

Note: I am not trying to sell these classes to you. The opinions expressed in this blog post are strictly my own and not sponsored by any third party.

XOxo,

Lexi Eids

One thought on “Do For You: Pure Barre 

Leave a Reply

